Design

Project 2: Event Ad

DaddyDaughter-jpg

Description:

To create a full color Event Ad for a fundraiser using only a scanner and Microsoft Word.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):

I first scanned the image of the girl on her dads back into the computer and then inserted it into Word. I changed the contrast/brightness of the image using the corrections tool. I then created a long rectangle on the side of the image and used the color eye dropper tool to match the color of the rectangle with the little girls shirt in the image. I also used that same eye dropper tool to match the color of the text. I chose a Modern Serif font for the body text and a sans-serif font for the body-copy. I decided to wrap the title/body copy around the little girls head and put the 5K title in the direction of the little girls eyes to create a focal point and good movement through the design.

Programs that I used: Microsoft Word, HP Photoshop Scanner and PDF2JPG.net (PDF converter).

Message:

I am holding a 5K run to raise money for the Dave Thomas Charity for Adoption. Like the flier says I think that everyone deserves a forever home and this is a fun way to get out and exercise and help do that.

Audience:

My audience is for those in the community who like to run and/or are interested in raising money for adoption.

Color scheme and color names:

Complementary, red (pink/burgundy), green

Top Thing Learned:

I had no idea how much I could do with word especially how to use the eye dropper tool to match colors.

Title Font Name & Category:

Bodoni 72, Serif (Modern)

Copy Font Name & Category:

Futura, Sans Serif

Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used:

The image that I scanned was from the doTERRA Living magazine Fall 2014 addition. The image was originally 5″ x 8.5″. I scanned it at 300 ppi and the final image scanned was 900 px x 1670px

 

2 thoughts on “Project 2: Event Ad

  1. I love your explanation for how / why you formatted the text you did and your color selection (makes me wish I had said something more about color in my own presentation!). I think you did a wonderful job! Color selection is smart (the contrast is really appealing!), layout is simple yet attractive, and the fonts you used helped emphasize your message (gives it a sort of whimsical look that says that it is ultimately for the children). Great work!

    If you get a chance, I’d love it if you could take a look at my event ad and let me know what you think. 🙂 https://jreedbyuicomm.wordpress.com/2016/01/29/project-2-event-ad/
    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

