Design

Project 4: Montage

JenniferHarris-P4Montage-Temple

Description: A spiritual montage using good typography and combining two different photos in Photoshop to blend the photos together.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing):

  1. I first cropped the image of the Salt Lake Temple to 8.5 x 11.
  2. I created a new layer on the image of my daughter in the wedding dress and used a white brush with high opacity to get rid of some of the wrinkles in the front.
  3. I used the lasso tool around my daughter to move her onto the background image and then created a mask.
  4. With 100% opacity I used the brush to get rid of the hard edges and green background and then decreased the opacity to under 30% to blend in the dress and my daughter.
  5. I added the phrase from the LDS Children’s Songbook and used two contrasting fonts giving emphasis on the words “Temple” and “Someday” by increasing the size and making bold.

Message: I wanted to emphasize the importance of the temple and how that is such a wonderful goal for the future even for little children.

Audience: The first audience is my daughter and she loved this, but the rest of my audience is all primary children and parents.

Top Thing Learned: I learned a lot better how layers work and how why it is necessary to flatten the layers to print, but also necessary to keep the layers if I ever want to make future edits.

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied: I already loved the colors of the images, but adjusted the levels so that they were how they needed to be.

Color scheme and color names: Tetradic-green, blue, red and orange

Title Font Name & Category:

Baskerville Bold-Old Style/Serif

Copy Font Name & Category:

Ariel Regular-Sans Serif

Thumbnails of Images used:

IMG_2871SLTemple

 

 

 

 

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

https://www.lds.org/search?domains=images&lang=eng&q=temples&page=7

 

2 thoughts on “Project 4: Montage

  1. Hi Jen, nice job on your project! What a fun idea to have your daughter trying on your wedding dress.
    nice job combining the photos. You also did a nice job contrasting your quote so that it was very readable. I had a hard time with that on my montage! If you get a chance take a look at my project, I used a photo of my granddaughter in mine https://teristrong.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Hi Jen,
    What a great theme and beautiful pictures! I thought it was such a great idea to incorporate those ideas, the young girl dressing up and the quote. It seems like a perfect and personalized gift to a daughter or son, a great reminder of what is important.
    I thought your mask had a nice flow. Good job!
    Chari also had a beautiful blending of her background with a temple. Here is her link:https://chariclark.wordpress.com/2016/02/13/project-4-montage/
    This is another montage from another class that I think turned out well: https://tammydresen.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/project-4-montage/

    Like

Leave a Reply

